I-Mei Green Onion Pancake (義美蔥油餅)

I-Mei Green Onion Pancake (義美蔥油餅)
I-Mei Green Onion Pancake (義美蔥油餅)

My husband surfs on weekend mornings. He usually leaves super early, around 6am or so. Being a good wife, I would get up to make him breakfast, then go back to bed afterward. I like to make him something easy and quick.

I picked up I-Mei Green Onion Pancake (義美蔥油餅) at the frozen section at 99 Ranch Market. It was on sale for buy 1 get 1 free for $1.99.

Ingredients were wheat flour, vegetable oil, green onion, and salt. Simple, and no strange additive. I like that.

Each package comes with 5 individual packed frozen handmade pancake.

Heat up a little bit of oil in a pan in medium heat. Cook the pancake. Flip when one side is browned.

The pancake will look like this when it’s done.

Dipping Sauce
Dipping Sauce

The green onion pancake itself doesn’t have much flavor. So it is all about the dipping sauce. My husband loves the dipping sauce that I made with garlic, cilantro and chili pepper. He used a little spoon to get all the good stuff on the pancake to eat with. This dipping sauce is good for dumplings as well.

Garlic and Cilantro Dipping Sauce

(1 Serving)

1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoon cilantro, chopped
1 small red chili pepper, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon brown vinegar (鎮江醋) (can be substitue with rice vinegar)
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

Mix all ingredients together and enjoy it with green onion pancake.

12 thoughts on “I-Mei Green Onion Pancake (義美蔥油餅)

    1. Awesome recipe! Asians don’t really eat sweets for breakfast. We usually always have savory food for breakfast. Your pancake looks delicious. Makes me want to go make a couple of them NOW!

Leave a Reply

