Chinese Baked Tofu Roll (五香豆乾捲餅)

Chinese Bean Curd Roll (五香豆腐乾捲餅)
Chinese Bean Curd Roll (五香豆乾捲餅)

I love to convert my once-favorite meat dishes into vegan versions. This Chinese Baked Tofu Roll (五香豆乾捲餅) is my vegan version of Chinese beef roll (牛肉捲餅). The roll makes a good appetizer. We also like to have this for breakfast. This recipe is SUPER easy and fast to make. Also it is very budget friendly.

Baked Tofu | Hoisin Sauce | "Mala" Spicy Sauce
Baked Tofu | Hoisin Sauce | “Mala” Spicy Sauce

The baked tofu is wrapped with green onion pancake. I used I-Mei frozen green onion pancake I wrote about a few days ago. Of course you can make some fresh green onion pancake if you like. (I will write green onion pancake recipe soon.)

1. Baked Tofu (豆乾)

Baked tofu is also called bean curd or dried tofu. They are brown on the outside, and white on the inside. The texture is even firmer than extra firm tofu. Unlike flavorless tofu, baked tofu usually comes pre-seasoned. The one I bought is called “five-spiced” baked tofu. If you cannot find baked tofu, you can substitute with marinated extra firm tofu. You can marinated the tofu with soy sauce and Chinese five spices powder for a few hours.

2. Hoisin Sauce (海鮮醬)

Hoisin sauce is a slightly sweet sauce that is often used in Asian cuisine, either for cooking or dipping.

3. “Mala” Spicy Sauce (麻辣醬)

“Ma” means numbing in Chinese, and “la” means spicy. The sauce is made with Sichuan peppercorn, chili pepper, and spices. Both my husband and I love spicy food. So we always like to add some heat to our food. But of course you can omit this if you don’t like spicy food. You can also substitute with any spicy chili sauce you like.

Time to cook!

Chinese Baked Tofu Roll (五香豆乾捲餅)

(4 rolls)

4 frozen green onion pancake (or freshly made ones)
2 pieces baked tofu
2 tablespoon hoisin sauce
“Mala” spicy sauce (or any spicy chili sauce) (optional), to taste
Cilantro

Cook green onion pancake according to package direction in a pan.

Slice the bake tofu diagonally (so the slices are bigger).

Cook the baked tofu on both sides in a pan briefly until it’s heated through.

Spread 1/2 tablespoon hoisin sauce on each pancake, one side only. Spread some “mala” spicy sauce (or any spicy chili sauce) if you are using.

Place baked tofu slices on top of pancake.

Place a handful of cilantro on top.

Roll it up into a “burrito”. Start eating with your hand if you are hungry and manly like my husband.

But if you are an elegant lady like me, cut the roll into smaller pieces and eat with style. 😀

10 thoughts on “Chinese Baked Tofu Roll (五香豆乾捲餅)

  1. This is one of the best vegan items I’ve ever eaten! I prefer this over the actual chinese beef rolls. So simple but tasty, made my day! 🙂

    1. The baked tofu I used was from a Chinese supermarket. So it was made with Chinese seasoning and spices. If you don’t have an Asian market in your area, probably need to make it on your own. I love hoisin sauce too. Actually my husband doesn’t like it all that much because he doesn’t like sweet. But when I mix it with spicy sauce, then he likes it.

  2. Oh, yummy! I love green onion pancakes, and had forgotten about them. Thanks for introducing me to a delicious way to enjoy them. Loving this blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

