Chinese Spicy Garlic Eggplant (魚香茄子)

Chinese Spicy Garlic Eggplant (魚香茄子)
Chinese Spicy Garlic Eggplant (魚香茄子)

I didn’t like eggplant when I was a kid. I thought the mushy texture is just gross. Every time I see eggplant on the dining table, I would say “yuck” and refuse to even try it. Then one day in my late 20’s, I decide to take just one bite of eggplant. To my surprise, it actually tasted kinda good. I took another bite, then another, then another. Why did I wait all those years? Lesson learned: Don’t just assume you won’t like something. Give it a try at least!

Chinese Spicy Garlic Eggplant

(4 Servings)

1 medium size eggplant (I used Chinese eggplant)
1 tablespoon vegetable oil (I like to use grapeseed oil)
2 tablespoon minced garlic
2 tablespoon minced ginger
2 tablespoon thinly sliced green onion
1 tablespoon chili bean sauce
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon rice wine
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon sugar
3/4 cup water

Cut eggplant into bite size pieces. Soak in salted water for 15 minutes. (After eggplant soaks in salted water, it won’t absorb too much oil when cooking.) Heat up oil in wok with medium high heat. When oil is hot, add garlic, ginger and green onion. Cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.

Add eggplant and cook until slightly soften, about 5 minutes.

In a small bowl, mix together chili bean sauce, soy sauce, rice wine, sesame oil, sugar and water. Add the seasoning sauce to wok. Stir-fry until eggplants are cooked, about 8 minutes. If it gets too dry (because eggplants will absorb liquid), add more water as needed.

Sprinkle with some chopped green onion on top. Serve with a bowl of brown rice. Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Chinese Spicy Garlic Eggplant (魚香茄子)

    1. Most asian eggplant recipes have instruction to fry the eggplants first. Then the eggplants soak up ALL the oil. Yuck! I don’t like fatty and oily dishes so this is how I like to prepare my eggplants.

  1. I used Braggs liquid aminos instead of soy sauce. Added a touch of siracha to the mix. I skipped the sugar but did add some jalapeño jam, which was sweet. It was delicious! Thank you for the idea!

Leave a Reply

