Goodies from My Foodie Penpal Terra

I found out about Foodie Penpals in early October, just in time to sign up for the month. The rule is to buy $15 of goodies to send it to your matched foodie penpals. You will also get a goodie box from another foodie penpal. My October foodie penpal is Terra from Colorado.

My goodie box arrived on a Saturday morning. I was so excited when I opened my surprised box. Inside I found veggie chips, chocolate cookies, carrot ginger soup, and black rice. I had the veggie chips right away. Those are so addicting, and much better than potato chips. The chocolate cookie was very rich and delicious. I haven’t tried the carrot ginger soup yet. I think I’m going to have that tonight. I think the color is just perfect for Halloween night. haha…

My favorite item in the box is the black japonica rice. In Asian cuisine, rice is essential as we eat rice with almost everything.

I cooked 1/2 cup of brown rice with 1/2 cup of black japonica rice in my rice cooker with 2 cups of water. The result was beautiful purple rice. It looked very similar to Korean purple rice, which is made with Korean black sweet rice. I really like the flavor, texture, and the color of purple rice. It’s also healthier! Love it!

Thank you so much, Terra! I love everything in my box!! 😀

7 thoughts on “Goodies from My Foodie Penpal Terra

  1. The veggie chips and the black japonica rice look so tasty!!! This foodie penpal programs seems so much fun! And Eileen, you are very generous on packing your goodie box cus I am sure those things add up more than $15 and those are real good choices! Love everything in there (the shrimp chips, green tea cookies, miso soup).

    1. Haha… I pretty much packed everything I like. I couldn’t really decide on what to put back on the shelf from my shopping basket, and ended up just getting them all. I want my penpal to try all those yummy food. Wouldn’t it be fun if we can do international foodie penpals? But I supposed shipping would be really expensive.

Leave a Reply

