Guest Post from My Foodie Penpal Susan

My name is Susan, and I live in Southern Maine, about as far away as one can get in the US from Southern California – home of my foodie penpal.  I do not have a blog, so Eileen invited me to post a guest blog so I could share my foodie box with her readers.

When I first saw the exchange list, I was extremely excited that my Penpal wrote an Asian blog – I love Asian flavors, as does my eleven year old son.  We waited with anticipation for the box to arrive.  My son was so eager to open the box I thought he was going to explode.

Inside was a beautiful hand written note explaining the contents- all Japanese items!

  • Instant Miso Soup
  • Vegetable Curry
  • Japanese Soup/Rice bowl
  • Chopsticks
  • Green Tea Cookies
  • Barley Tea
  • Coffee Candy
  • Shrimp flavored chips

I immediately opened the Green Tea Cookies – they were sandwich style cookies with green tea flavored cream and oh so yummy!  I took them to work with me and rationed them – only allowing myself one a day so they would last.  Sadly, I ate my last one today.  The coffee candy was surprisingly tasty and that too is hidden in my drawer at work, slowly rationed to make it last.

My son and I prepared the Miso soup, and it looked just like the picture on the package.  We both enjoyed the mild Asian flavor and we served it in the beautiful bowl that she included.   I have yet to try the Vegetable Curry & Barley Tea, I’m saving them for a rainy day.  I don’t want to eat all of my treats before my November foodie box arrives next month.

The  Shrimp Chips provided amusement to my son, but he was too chicken to try them.  I took them to work and had them on my desk when a coworker who is from Singapore walked by and just about jumped into my cube when he saw the bag!  He said that Calbee chips were his favorite and he always buys them when he travels.  I seized that opportunity to break into them.  I will admit that they are probably an acquired taste.  I liked them, but only a few at a time, so I gifted them to my coworker.  I have never seen a smile so big on his face!

Thank you Eileen for a generous foodie penpal box that broadened my culinary horizons and those of my son!

4 thoughts on “Guest Post from My Foodie Penpal Susan

Leave a Reply

